the Law Of Three


One of the most fundamental rules of existence is the Law of Three, or trinity. It expresses the universal truth of the evolution of awareness. It is included as the central triangle of the enneagram. It also appears as the central trinity of many religious, spiritual, and philosophical systems, as well as many other places.

The Law Of Three lurks in the core of reality Itself. It is the source, the process, and the destination. Its three points are the stable foundation of all change and all evolution.

There are many ways to view this triangle. Here’s one:
• At the top (9) is the state of cosmic union, which is both “all” and “nothing.”
• At lower right (3) is “I” which means the individual self.
• At lower left (6) is “we” which means community.

Here’s another:
• At 9 is physical being, relating to the whole body.
• At 3 is emotional being, relating to the heart.
• At 6 is mental being, relating to the brain.

One more, this one a little more subtle:
• At 9 is the kitchen.
• At 3, preparation of a meal.
• At 6, the serving of a meal to guests.

Each of these different interpretations relates to exactly the same basic principle of reality. The Law of Three is visible everywhere in the world, if you know how to look.

it works in humans too
Of course, the Law of Three is also visible in humans, in many ways. One of the most interesting, powerful, and useful ways to see it is in our diverse human personalities. We are all unique, but each of us fits into one of three primary groups of personalities.

• Some of us are mostly focused in our physical presence (or absence) in the world.
• Some of us usually relate to the world through our emotions (or lack of them).
• Some of us mainly deal with the world by thinking (or lack of thought).

Every human in the world fits into one of these three groups; it is an inevitable result of the Law of Three. There is nothing especially bad or good about being in any of these groups.

2018-0610 e9basic75

three becomes nine
If we apply the Law of Three again, each of these three primary personality groups splits into three distinct variations, for a total of nine different human personality types. These nine types are placed around a nine-pointed shape called an enneagram.

The types are numbered clockwise, with 9 at the top.

Here are some basic truths about the nine enneagram personality types:

• Everyone has a precise, unchanging “home” enneagram type.
• Everyone’s type is stable starting in early life.
• Everyone expresses all nine types to various degrees.
• Each of the nine types is complete as a human.
• No type is better or worse.
• Each type can be enlightened or psychotic, or anything in between.
• Each type has its own special set of talents.
• These talents can be expressed to near-magical levels.
• Each talent is the reverse of a nasty, diabolical personality trap.
• These traps can completely ruin one’s life.



Next in Enneagram 101: how to study the enneagram

Previous in Enneagram 101: nine facets of love

…or return to contents.